I love the sound of dominoes being shuffled – it takes me back to my childhood.  Thinking back to when I was a kid, it seems like someone was always playing dominoes. Well, not the true game of dominoes, but the game of 42.  I fell in love with dominoes when I discovered the game Mexican Train.  I quickly invested in a set of Double Twelves and my friends and I played all the time.  Finding the time (and energy) to play Mexican Train now that I have kids is a little more difficult, so it’s been a while since I’ve played.  Not wanting Kora to miss out on the joy or sound of dominoes I decided to pull out my Double Twelves and let her do her thing.


Originally I thought it would be fun to show her how to set up the dominoes in a line and then knock them down.  It didn’t take me long to realize that this was just not going to happen.  She would set up a few dominoes and then just knock them all down with one big swipe of her hand!  I may have to set up all the dominoes one day when she’s taking a nap and let her watch them fall when she wakes up.  I think she’d really enjoy watching the domino effect!


We built towers and then she would knock the towers down. She loved knocking down the towers best.  She thought it was funny to knock them down with her feet.


Kora had so much fun playing with the dominoes that she felt the need to include her baby sister!  She kept trying to force Lila to hold one of the dominoes, but finally gave up and just left the domino on Lila’s tummy!

Then Kora discovered that she could make A LOT of noise by using two dominoes like cymbals!  She was so excited by the sound that she ran over to me so I could hear her music better! As if I couldn’t hear her from three feet away!

The dominoes kept Kora entertained forever!  I stopped and made lunch and Kora continued to play.  She pushed them around the floor.  She stood on them and skated around the room!  She used them as props while playing with her animals.  She played and played and played!

If you need your child to be easily entertained and don’t mind stepping on an occasional domino, you should have a Domino Day.  Get out the dominoes and let them play!

