Happy New Year!

It’s a new year and I’m excited! I love the idea of looking at the new year as a fresh start and a time to think about personal growth. 

When it comes to New Year’s Resolutions, there seems like there are two different camps. There are the people who know their resolutions are going to wind up broken by February, so they think “Why make them?”

Then there are the people who are so optimistic that it doesn’t matter how many resolutions they have broken in the past, they make a list and truly believe that this is the year. This is my camp. I love love love resolutions. 

I enjoy making lists so making resolutions is another chance for me to do something I love. I start casually thinking about the upcoming year around Thanksgiving. Some years I reread Gretchen Rubin’s book “The Happiness Project” for inspiration. This year, however, I’ve just been thinking about what’s going good in my life and what improvements I’d like to work on. 


I’m using a little notebook to keep track of my goals. I made a simple checklist for the things that only need to be completed once a month. For example, I want to make sure that each month I take a picture of my husband and me with our two girls. 

Each month I will make a checklist for the goals that need to happen more frequently, whether daily, weekly, or somewhere in between. One daily goal is to do a cartwheel everyday. I don’t want to wake up one day and find that I’m too old to do a cartwheel. I feel that if I do a daily cartwheel, I will always have the muscle memory to do a cartwheel. 


I made resolutions to grow in all aspects of my life – I want to improve my physical health as well as challenge myself mentally. I want to improve relationships with friends, family, my spouse and my children. I have career goals and blogging goals. 

My list of resolutions is most likely impossible. But I’m optimistic and I’m going to give it a shot. You’ve heard the quote, “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss you’ll land among the stars.” That’s what I’m doing – aiming high! I am confident that I will start off strong and that a few weeks in, life will get in the way. That’s why I’ve set a monthly alarm on my phone to remind me to review and reassess my resolutions. I’m hoping this will help keep me on track. 

Whether I keep or break my resolutions, I believe that 2017 is going to be an amazing year. I hope you have an amazing year too! Here’s to 2017!

