Meal planning can be a daunting task at times.  It requires coming up with a list of meals to feed your family for the week and then making your shopping list for your necessary ingredients.  In the past I would go to the grocery store without a plan – I would just buy a lot of food in hopes that I would be able to put together dinner.  This shopping technique usually ended up with too may canned goods (at one point I had like 8 cans of chickpeas in my pantry!) and left me every night wondering “What’s for dinner?”.

img_6671

Shopping without a plan was exhausting and I had to change my ways.  I found an amazing app called MealBoard that makes my meal planning a breeze. I add my favorite recipes, including its ingredients to the apps database.  This initial step can be a little time consuming, but its so worth it. I love that I can add a picture to each recipe too.

img_6682

Before I go grocery shopping, I open MealBoard and plan out my meals for the week.  I always check my calendar for any dates that might affect my meal plan (weekends out of town, evening events, etc.),  and I add those to my MealBoard.  Once any mealtime conflicts are added, I start plugging in meals.

The first couple days of the week are the meals that I really want to cook or eat.  I then throw in a day of ‘Leftovers’.  When I first started meal planning, I would forget to take leftovers into consideration.  I would plan a new meal for everyday which resulted in way too much food!  Now I make sure to plan for leftovers to be dinner at least one or two nights a week.

img_6685

As I add meals to my MealBoard meal plan, I indicate whether the meal is for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or snack.  There is also a ‘none’ indicator.  I use this for times that I won’t be cooking.  Each category is color coded which makes my meal plan visually appealing.

Once I have my weekly meals planned, I can use the shopping tab to see my shopping list.  All of the ingredients from my recipes are consolidated into a checklist I can use at the store.  It’s super awesome!

img_6683

One of my favorite features of MealBoard is the notification feature.  Any recipe that requires advanced preparation, such as thawing or soaking, can have a reminder notification added to it.  As the scheduled date of a meal approaches, I get a reminder to do the necessary prep work.

MealBoard is a fantastic app that has simplified my life.  I love how easy it is to use and that I can quickly make changes to my meal plan if necessary.  It not only helps me get my shopping list organized resulting in buying fewer groceries, but it helps me answer the age old question, “What’s for dinner?”!

 

 

