The movie “Jeff, Who Lives at Home” inspired the title for this post. My two year old loves to read which makes my heart happy! Sometimes I ask her to bring me a book to read to her, but more often than not, she asks me to read to her. And not only that, but I find her all the time just sitting reading to herself.

Now I know that she can’t actually read the words, but she’s looking at the pictures and she’s making up he own stories. Did I mention that this makes my heart happy?

I’ve been taking pictures of her reading lately and I wanted to share a few of them.


I caught her with an issue of Brides magazine…oh, wait…that’s from a George Strait song. I caught Kora with an issue of People:

She reads in the car:

She reads in the boat:

She even reads with a goat! Just kidding. But I should totally find a goat and have her read with it!

Our local library had reading logs to motivate kids to read over the summer. We took in Kora’s reading log at the halfway point to claim our halfway prize – a coupon book for the Great American Cookie Company. This led to a trip to the mall for a free cookie!

After marking the log for 30 days, we took it to the library to claim her prize – a new book!

Here she is showing off her new book to her dad. She is so proud!


Kora’s prize also included a free ice cream from Freddy’s!

Also over the summer we filled out a reading log from HEB.  After completing the log, we put it in an envelope and took it to the post office to mail off.  She was so excited when she received a package from HEBuddy with a certificate and t-shirt!

 

Hopefully Kora’s love for reading will continue as she gets older.  To encourage her, we read every night before bed and we visit the local library frequently.  She thinks she’s such a big shot as she’s browsing through all the books.  I’m hoping to introduce her to chapter books soon.  Any suggestions for good books to hold a toddler’s attention?

