Early last week, my husband asked me if I wanted to go camping this weekend.  I’m always up for a camping trip, so my answer naturally was, “Sure!”.  Within minutes, my husband had us a reservation at a campground a half hour from Scarborough Renaissance Festival.

Camping and a Renaissance Festival in one weekend? Score! Now just to decide what to wear.  My husband secretly wants to be a pirate in real life, so I knew that his costume was set.  Since the girls had outgrown their pirate costumes from last year, I had to find them something new to wear.

A quick search on Amazon and I had the girls matching mermaid outfits! I could have purchased more elaborate costumes, but opted for simple and comfortable.  I didn’t want their costume to make them (and me) miserable all day.

I also found me a pair of mermaid pants! I was a little nervous about wearing such bold pants, but I have learned over the years that nothing, and I mean NOTHING, is out of place at the Renaissance Festival.  That’s what is so great about Ren Fest.  The attire ranges from everyday clothes to the most elaborate costumes (dragons, fairies, barbarians, etc) and everything in between.  I like to dress up, but still want to be comfortable and able to chase two little ones around.

The night before the fair, I made Kora a mermaid tail out of foam to wear with her costume. She loved it and showed it off to everyone we passed at the festival.  She didn’t wear it long, but thankfully it lasted long enough to get a picture of her in it with the ‘real’ mermaids!

Throughout the day, I received several compliments on my pants and on the girls’ outfits. As I am the picture taker of the family, I don’t appear in many pictures.  This is the only picture of me in my mermaid pants.  Aren’t they so shiny? I think I may have to buy another pair in a different color.

IMG_0657

The girls had a blast at the festival.  Kora loved the mermaids and had to say hi to everyone she saw in an elaborate costume.  The dragon Fireflicker was her favorite! Lila could have spent all day at the petting zoo.  She loves animals!

 

We had such a fun, yet very exhausting day.    I absolutely loved our pirate/mermaid combination.  In fact, I think I’m going to do a little work on making my mermaid costume a little more elaborate before the fall’s Ren Fest.

IMG_0662

