Yesterday was Mother’s Day, and I was fortunate enough to be able to spend the afternoon with my two girls, my mother and my grandmother.  We didn’t have any special plans or do anything out of the ordinary.  We just sat in my mother’s living room and watched the kids play.  Other than four generations of strong willed women in one room, it was nothing to write home about.

But that’s what made it a great Mother’s Day.  I was able to enjoy the company of my mother and grandmother while watching my two little girls play.  I know there are many people out there who wish they could have had a day like I had.

A friend from high school recently lost his mother in a tragic car accident.  I can’t help but think of him and his family this Mother’s Day.  I grieve for him and his children as they mourn their loss.  I know they would do anything to be able to spend one more Mother’s Day with her.

I also keep thinking of the friends and family that have lost children or who have struggled with becoming a mom.  Mother’s Day must be a terribly painful time for them. I happen to be reading a memoir about a woman who struggled with infertility before finally adopting a child.  In the book she writes about the staggering number of children in the United States alone that are in need of a loving home.  I ache for the children who are motherless and for the women who yearn to be mothers but aren’t.

Mother’s Day is the one day of the year set aside to honor the mothers in our lives – mothers, mother-in-laws, grandmothers, or any other motherly figure.  But is one day really enough? If the mothers in your life are anything like the mothers in mine, one day of celebrating is really not sufficient. Mother’s Day should be a yearlong celebration! We should appreciate all the things they do for us each and every day.

I love being a mother.  It is hard work, and it seems like it gets harder every day.  I have been pooped on, puked on, and as I write this, my daughter, who is sleeping next to me, reached up and pinched me! She’s sleeping and felt the need to pinch my arm. Motherhood hurts! But I wouldn’t trade a minute of it.  These two little girls are my everything. I am continually being amazed by the things they do, and I love being  a part of their lives.

Kora made me a mommy and Lila renewed my subscription.  I love these little girls more than they will ever know and it a blessing to be their mother.

Happy Mother’s Day!

 

 

 

