Think about your parents for a minute. Are there some phrases or things they said to you or your siblings repeatedly? When I think about my mom and dad, here are a few of the things that stand out to me:

“Dang, Tina!” – A cross between “Dang, Gina” from the sitcom Martin and Tina the llama from Napoleon Dynamite.

“You’re killing me, James” – my mom mistakenly quoting Sandlot

“I love a challenge” – my mom anytime my siblings or I said we weren’t doing something she told us to do.

Well, now thanks to my mom, Kora loves a challenge too.  It all started a couple of weeks ago when we went to visit the grandparents.  Kora and two of her cousins were playing in the yard with my mom.  She started giving them challenges that they needed to complete:

  • Run and touch three trees and come back
  • Run and touch something red and come back
  • Sit in two different chairs and come back

I was completely surprised by how much the kids enjoyed these challenges – they were begging for more.  It’s always the simplest things that the kids seem to love most. (My mom always joked that as kids we would always compliment her more on her dinners of macaroni and cheese with BBQ hot dogs than on meals where she would slave away in the kitchen.)

The next day, while playing inside, Kora and her cousins asked for some more challenges. I will admit that some of the challenges were legitimate and some of the challenges were used to help clean up the toy area a little – ‘I challenge you to find three blue toys and put them on the shelf’.  I did challenge the five year old to find a toy shaped like a triangle.  He searched for a little while and then he found a toy fence that he shaped into a triangle – clever little guy!

Since our visit, Kora has continued to ask me for challenges.  Anywhere we go, she wants a challenge. We went to a splash pad with some friends one day, and I think she got one of her friends hooked on challenges. They had so much fun filling a bucket and dumping it on their heads and getting splashed by three different sprayers.

We’ve done challenges at the park and challenges at the mall.  Here’s Kora trying to make a tower of checkers:

IMG_2790

Completing challenges is one of those activities that I absolutely love.  It can be done anywhere, you just adapt the challenge to your environment.  It can also be played with any number of people and any age range can be challenged.  The challenges can also be used as a learning tool.  The challenges can ask kids to find a certain number of items (counting) or to find certain shapes, colors, letters, etc.  Outdoor challenges are a great way for kids to get exercise as well as improve coordination and balance.

I challenge you to use Challenges with your kid this week. But fair warning: they might get addicted!  I’d love to hear how you used challenges with your family.

 

 

 

